Issey Miyaki L’eau d’issey (Summer EDT 2012)

issye

What I really like about Issey Miyaki perfumes is the new editions it launches every season, and it keeps me and my nose ever inquisitive. Though I must admit every time I go to an outlet to pick up a bottle, I get a little paranoid as to what if the next edition is still better than this one? Almost all the L’eau d’Issey editions have my approval, be it the Florale, Noir, Summer or the Amber. There is generally very subtle difference in the scents from the original L’eau d’Issey, the theme almost always being the same – Fresh, Floral and aquatic.

This time around, I gathered courage (and funds) and finally decided to pick a limited edition bottle and as I had always liked this green and blue summery bottle, I bought the to Issey Miyaki L’eau d’issey (Summer EDT 2012)

The well known variant blatantly announces Summer. I love the way the bottle plays with transparency against the green opaque leafs. A light blue transparent bottle is wrapped with opaque, fresh green leaves, giving the bottle a very natural, tranquil and rain forest feel. The original shape of the Leau d’Issey bottle is retained.

issye1

It is difficult to describe the perfume without comparing it with its sister L’eau d’issey. The Fragrance can be described as fresh, aquatic and floral with hints of summer, grass and something else green.  The fragrance is very light, fresh and exhilarating. It is a very feminine scent and oozes elegance. The fragrance envelops you and lingers for hours making you feel fresh and confident. It feels like a splash of fresh fragrant water on a warm summer day.

The inspiration of this edition is desert, palms and tranquility. One can definitely smell the roses, melon, pear, peony and fresh cut grass in the top notes, more flowers along with fresh aquatic notes in the middle and citrusy, spicy and woody notes in the dry down.  Aquatic notes abound in freshness and energy, are in harmony with flowers, aromatic herbs, citruses, spices, wood and amber.

The staying power of the perfume is very good. It lasts for 3-4 hours on my skin and even longer on my clothes. I especially like to use this one during the day for its freshness and crispness. It just seems perfect for warm summery days.

I like this special edition even more than the signature L’eau d’Issey as it is more fresh and green and little less expensive than the signature scent.

Tip for today: Do not buy a fragrance by just smelling it on paper. Perfumes smell different on different people. On my shopping sprees, I generally make the first stop at perfume store and spray the juice I like, and continue my shopping. This way I can really experience all the notes on my skin before I actually commit to a bottle!

Leave a Reply

