J’adore By Dior (Eau de parfum)

jadore

Since I was a little girl, I was fascinated by J’adore. Every time I would walk into a perfume store and see the ads with the gorgeous golden bottle and even more gorgeous Claudia Schiffer, I would pine for a bottle of this juice for myself.

350m6x0h44l

Now, my perfume shelf is a riot of fragrances and my prized bottle of J’adore was pushed behind by newer and fancier concoctions until a couple of days back, it caught my eye again. All it took was a lackadaisical sniff of the perfume to remind me why I loved it so much and this compulsive review is the result of that sniff!

J’adore celebrates the bouquet of Ylang Ylang, Damask Rose and Sambac Jasmine. Other noticeable notes are Tuberose, Magnolia, Plum, and Mandarin. There is also a hint of Musk, Vanilla and Blackberry. The perfume is a perfect concoction with no floral note overpowering the other

Despite having a list of flowers as the main notes, the fragrance is not overwhelmingly floral or sickly sweet. The white flowers blend beautifully with fruity notes and the warm musky base notes to create a fresh, smooth, luminous golden scent. The pale yellow, musky floral dry down of this perfume is my absolute favorite.

It has been my to-go fragrance and can be worn any time of the day and year. J’adore (Eau de parfum) has one of the best longevity that I know of. I can still get a faint dry down whiff of it on my skin by the end of the day and on my clothes even the next day! The Silage is exceptionally good too.

I know my crush on J’adore is going to be short-lived and the sensual amphora shaped bottle will be pushed back until I am ready to be blown away by this simple yet sophisticated potion again.

As common and overdone this scent, I am not embarrassed to fall in love with it time and again.

Now for today’s tip: A lot of women have complained about longevity of perfumes. ‘It does not last on me for more than an hour’ or ‘after an hour, I cannot smell it on me anymore’.  Well, when we first smell a fragrance, the scent receptors send a signal to the brain’s limbic system, which determines how we will process and feel about that particular scent. But the receptors in our nose essentially turn off after around two breaths, and the scent—no matter how strong initially—starts to fade.  So next time you want to test the longevity of your perfume, ask someone around you if they can still smell it!

Leave a Reply

